Counties we cover

Counties we cover

English Family Origins conducts research across all the counties of England. In addition to having a network of experienced local researchers, each covering their specialist county, we also work in close association with the numerous archival repositories for each county.

English Counties (pre 1974)

From a genealogical point of view, the majority of research will be conducted within records appropriate to the counties as they were prior to the 1974 county boundary changes...for ease of reference these are listed below.

Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Cornwall, Cumberland, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, County Durham, Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Sussex, Warwickshire, Westmorland, Wiltshire, Worcestershire, Yorkshire: East Riding of Yorkshire, North Riding of Yorkshire, West Riding of Yorkshire.

English Counties (post 1974)

This list is of newly created counties and other names or descriptions of significance.

Avon, Bristol, Cleveland, Cumbria, East Sussex, Greater Manchester, Greater London, Humberside, Isle of Wight, London, Merseyside, North Humberside, North Yorkshire, South Humberside, South Yorkshire, Tyne and Wear, West Midlands, West Sussex, West Yorkshire.

Current metropolitan and non-metropolitan Counties of England

Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, Durham, Cumbria, Lancashire, Blackpool, Blackburn with Darwen, West Yorkshire, North Yorkshire, Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough, Hartlepool, Redcar and Cleveland, York, East Riding of Yorkshire, Hull, North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Nottingham, South Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Derby, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Halton, Warrington, Cheshire West and Chester, Cheshire East, Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin, Staffordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, West Midlands, Warwickshire, Leicestershire, Leicester, Rutland, Northamptonshire, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Southend-on-Sea, Thurrock, Hertfordshire, Central Bedfordshire, Bedford, Luton, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Gloucestershire, Worcestershire, Herefordshire, South Gloucestershire, Bristol, North Somerset, Bath and North East Somerset, Wiltshire, Swindon, Berkshire, Greater London, Medway, Kent, East Sussex, Brighton & Hove, West Sussex, Surrey, Hampshire, Southampton, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Dorset, Poole, Bournemouth, Somerset, Devon, Torbay, Plymouth, Cornwall.

Unitarian Authorities

Unitary authorities are areas with only one council...49 of these are coterminous with a non-metropolitan county:

Bath and North East Somerset, Bedford, Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Bournemouth, Brighton and Hove, Bristol, Central Bedfordshire, Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Cornwall, Darlington, Derby, Durham, East Riding of Yorkshire, Halton, Hartlepool, Herefordshire, Isle of Wight, Kingston upon Hull, Leicester, Luton, Medway, Middlesbrough, Borough of Milton Keynes, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, North Somerset, Northumberland, Nottingham, Peterborough, Plymouth, Poole, Portsmouth, Redcar and Cleveland, Rutland, Shropshire, South Gloucestershire, Southampton, Southend-on-Sea, Stockton-on-Tees, Stoke-on-Trent, Swindon, Telford and Wrekin, Thurrock, Torbay, Warrington, Wiltshire, York

Forty-three of these are defined as counties with a single district council, and no county council. The Isle of Wight, Cornwall, Durham, Northumberland, Shropshire and Wiltshire are technically counties with a county council and no district councils, but the effect is the same.

The districts of Berkshire are unitary authorities, but are not granted county status.

The Isles of Scilly are not part of Cornwall for administrative purposes, but neither do they constitute a county.